Former MNRC President Ray Muth has died

Ray Muth
January 12, 1938 – June 2, 2013

Ray Muth

Former Master National President and Charter Member Ray Muth. Photo by Sarah Wonnell.

The retriever sport, especially the retriever hunting tests, reluctantly says farewell to our friend, Ray Muth.

For decades, Ray unselfishly, generously and strongly supported the retriever sport in a multitude of ways. Because of his support, we have benefited as individuals and the entire retriever sport has been improved.

Ray’s tireless commitment to improving the quality of breeding, improving judges’ abilities, maintaining high expectations of owners, handlers, judges, volunteers and dog performances are clear testimony to his dedication to the retriever sport.

His donation of time, talent, finances, expertise and other resources are deeply appreciated. His dedicated services as volunteer leader, visionary, judge, handler, owner, land provider and mentor serve as exemplary examples for us all.

The success the Master National Retriever Club, Inc. enjoys today is largely due to Charter Member Ray Muth who diligently served in so many ways so well including serving as President twice. Ray, we thank you; you are a great man!

Our heartfelt sympathies are extended to Elly and the rest of the Muth family.
The Master National Retriever Club, Inc. June 2013
Ray Muth

This entry was posted in MNRC Board News & Updates, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Former MNRC President Ray Muth has died

  1. Bill Teague says:

    The retriever sport has lost a visionary, talented and inspirational leader. The Master National Retriever Club has lost a unique asset whose mark will forever be embellished on our organization. Ray directly or indirectly touched the lives of virtually every owner or handler who ever had a dog enter a retriever hunting test and we as individuals and our beloved sport are deeply grateful to him. May God Bless him and his family!

  2. Julie Oven says:

    Bless you Ellie,our thoughts and prayer are with you! Julie Oven

  3. lylesdad says:

    I met Ray at the first MN in DelMarVa. Over the years I was fortunate to often train, judge and socilaize with Ray. Always enjoyed it, most often learned something. I miss him.
    Our sincere condolences to Elly, family and Ray’s many friends.
    Bob & Macy Swift

  4. Tom McKenzie says:

    Dear friend you will be missed.

  5. Sam says:

    Tallahassee Hunting Retriever Club
    There is a special comfort in knowing that the words “Welcome Home” have been heard in heaven, as the beautiful memories of Ray’s life remain here in our hearts. He will be missed.

    The Tallahassee Hunting Retriever Club is proud to sponsor Ray Muth’s addition as a member of The Bird Dog Hall of Fame. No one could be more deserving of the honor. The club and many members, as individuals, have contributed to this end.

    If you would like to join us in this effort we would appreciate it. We still have a way to go. Send contributions to THRC in Ray’s name to:
    Sam Ferguson
    THRC President

  6. John and Linda Marchica says:

    Our deepest condolences Elly and the Muth family – Rays guidance and many words of wisdom will be sorely missed and, of course, that sweet smell of his pipe. We first met Ray when he came to LCRC in VT to judge one of the first MN events in 1995 and we became instant friends. He helped me and coached me during my term on the MNRC board and especially during my term as President.

    We will miss you, Ray

    John and Linda Marchica

  7. James Stucker says:

    I met Ray and Elly in 1999 in South Carolina for the first time. I enjoyed his company and talks. In 2000 in Indiana while sitting in the gallery and watching the dogs work I wrote a poem so to speak. I showed it to Ray and at the closing ceremonies he read it to the crowd and then unbeknownst to me he had it printed in the MNRC News Letter following the MN. It moved me that I could just sit and write something from the heart and it made an impression on Ray. I was very humbled by Ray for doing that. The last time I saw Ray was the following year in Oklahoma, how could we forget that time 9/11. I always tell Doug to say hello every time he goes back. In 2004 Doug ran my personal dog for me in California. I wish I could have been there to show Ray that I did it finally. You will be missed Ray and Elly my heart is with you. Thank you for all you did for our wonderful sport.

    James and Julie Stucker

  8. Beckey Malphus says:

    The hunt test community and esp the master national have lost one of the very best. What a great friend Ray has been to me. He will remain an inspiration to me always. I love and miss you Elly. Please now my thoughts, prayers and sympathy are with you.

Leave a Reply

